January 11, 2016

PTSA Chartered for New Middle School

By Ron Caldwell
– The Collierville Herald –

Not only is the building beginning to take shape for the new Schilling Farms Middle School in Collierville, but the organization of people needed to run the school is also being put together.

The foundation has been laid, the walls are in place, and construction work is right on schedule for the new middle school at Schilling Farms off Poplar Avenue, according to officials with Shelby County Schools.

The new 95,000-square-foot, $8 million Schilling Farms Middle School will have grades five through eight beginning with the 1999-2000 school year in August with students in the Crosswind Elementary School boundaries to attend the new middle school next August when it opens. Sixth grade students from Collierville Elementary School and Tara Oaks Elementary School are scheduled to attend Collierville Middle School next August, making both elementary schools kindergarten through fifth grades.

Last month, the school system named Sherry Phillips as the school’s inaugural principal. Mrs. Phillips, a longtime civic leader in Collierville, was previously principal at Collierville Middle School. She took last year to serve as an administrator in the Shelby County Schools offices in Memphis.

The school also held a meeting recently to organize and charter a Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA). With the assistance of Mrs. Phillips and representatives of the Shelby County and Tennessee PTA Council, a charter was created with Mrs. Phillips being named the first charter member.

The PTSA members then nominated and elected its first board for the upcoming school year.

Officers are Sue Seahorn, president; Maria Holmes, vice president for programs; Mary Bertus, secretary; Kathy Smith, treasurer; Jan Madison, membership; Cheri Hughes, cultural arts; Sarah Barton, legislation; Sue Miller, public relations; pam Pittman, newsletter; pam Abel, room parents; Lucy Taylor Young, parent volunteer; Shirley Seamon, health room; Jody Aitken, safety and welfare; Lisa Duncan, hospitality; Cindy Richards, ways and means; Jan Whitehead, beautification; Brenda Savoy, historian; and, Sara Hansen, parliamentarian.